Bogdan Raczynski

in , Mix of the Day by Louise Brailey about

Bogdan Raczynski‘s background transcends global and cultural boundaries: born in Poland, he moved with his family to the US before eventually travelling to Japan to study. Likewise, his music is difficult to fix in place—there’s a restlessness at play that’s been present since the ’90s when he was first signed to Rephlex. It’s certainly readable in the frenzied drum programming and the yen for genre mutation (Raczynski sometimes sings in Japanese over his breakbeats), as well as his artistic dovetailing into computer game music and filmmaking. We expected something a little different from his Mix of the Day, and he didn’t disappoint. Expect a stylistically brisk, fast-paced mix—there’s over 50 tracks in less than an hour—that’s a little cerebral, frequently beautiful and sometimes faintly ridiculous. Want Lil Wayne on the same tracklist as Aphex Twin, Untold, and Erik Satie? You’re in luck. You can follow Bogdan Raczynski on Twitter.

1. Untold – I can’t stop this feeling
2. Aphex Twin – Jynwythek Ylow
3. Ryuichi Sakamoto – Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
4. Autechre / Stereolab – Refractions In The Plastic Pulse (Feebate mix)
5. Untold – Dante
6. Trevino – Shank
7. i, Cactus – Ruby Cactus
8. Erik Satie – Lent et grave
9. Marcel Dettmann – Duel
10. Mount Kimbie – Fifty Mile View
11. Roska – I Need Love (feat Anesha)
12. Bertrand Dupart – Ketokole (Boddhi Satva Ancestral mix)
13. Mount Kimbie – Maybes (James Blake remix)
14. Casio Kids – Finn Bikkjen!
15. Untold – Stereo Freeze
16. Jay Denham – Blackman Side A
17. DJ Bam Bam – With Da Illness vol 1 Side B
18. Switch + Andrea Martin – I Still Love You
19. Todd Osborn – November 001 – @soundmurderer
20. Lil Wayne – A milli (James Blake Harmonimix)
21. Black Tunnel – Feelings
22. Redlight – Source 16
23. Todd Edwards – Like a Fire
24. Starski and Clutch – New Dance Show
25. Dj Powerout – Circuitwork Side A
26. Mount Kimbie – Field
27. Untold – Stop What Your Doing (James Blake remix)
28. Ramadanman – Glut
29. Kingdom Death – Theme
30. Untold – Anaconda
31. Joe – Claptrap
32. Joe – Level Crossing
33. Makhona Tsohle Band – Ngikhala Ngiya Baleka No 2
34. Kippie moeketsi and the marabi kings – Clarient Kwela
35. Jacques Greene – The Look (Koreless remix)
36. 2562 – Flashback
37. Kink – E79
38. 2562 – Lost
39. Mount Kimbie – William
40. Various – Fly
41. Untold – Kingdom
42. Burial – Near Dark (Original mix)
43. Todd Edwards – Face My Heaven
44. Ramadanman – Revenue (Untold remix)
45. Joe – Rut
46. Tsegue Maryam Guebrou – Piano Solo
47. Kyle Hall – Ghosten
48. Knowing Looks – Abandoned Ship
49. Global Goon – Kefweth
50. Troy Gunnr – Sworn I’ll Forget
51. Sepalcure – Taking You Back (Original mix)
52. Soul Clap – Lonely C (feat Charles Levine)
53. Untold – Mass Dreams Of The Future

Mondkopf’s rising doom

August 4, 2011 in Features by EB Team

French producer Mondkopf will release his second album in October and on first impressions we can report that Rising Doom is a suffocating, intoxicating brew of inky atmospheres that have been squeezed through an industrial grinder with added drum machine and rave-laser function. It’s heavy, it’s bleak and it sounds pretty damn fierce. Check out – more

Life is the show: Diane Arbus & Larry Clark

July 11, 2012 in Features by EB Team

“A photograph is a secret about a secret. The more it tells the less you know.” – Diane Arbus In 1958, back when she was a budding photojournalist and before she switched from 35mm to a square format, Diane Arbus captured the public, so to speak. In a photograph entitled “42nd St. Movie Theater Audience”, – more

Beta Band singer releases solo album

November 20, 2009 in Features by EB Team

Former Beta Band front man Steve Mason has enlisted the production services of sizzling electro producer Richard X for his new solo LP Boys Outside. Mason will release the album on X’s label Black Melody. Mason describes the tracks as the “best songs I’ve ever written”. This is the first time the Scottish art popster – more

Villalobos preps new EP and remix album

April 1, 2011 in Features by EB Team

In 2008, Chilean/German producer Ricardo Villalobos released his Vasco mini-album on Perlon. One year later he collaborated with Japanese producer Fumiya Tanaka on the single ‘Fumiyandric’ for Sundance Records – not that many releases for one of the most influential techno producers and DJ’s of recent years. That’s all going to change during the next – more