RISING – Eliphino

RISING - Eliphino

Eliphino. LF. I know. The moniker of 23 year old Tom Wrankmore who looks set to be the next bright young thing to break out of the post-dubstep ghetto with his gorgeously crafted beats, rich with emotion and longing. Sketching a neon line over dense, buzzing drums and nervous percussion his sound sits somewhere in between the best bits of bass and something far more ethereal.

Marking the edges of his own sonic universe with deft use of repetition, sampling and locomotive beats Eliphino first caught our attention when he appeared on Gilles Peterson’s Brownswood Electric compilation with ‘Let Me Love You Forever’. A toy-town melody reduced to a simple refrain join vocal samples atop frantic drums. The song moves along on a barrage of repetition and yet never becomes boring. It simply buries the feeling deeper into your mind with every listen. Quietly releasing music for over four years, first with his Out Of Phase EP and later his Made Seasons EP –a selection of strung out instrumentals – it was his inclusion on the Brownswood compilation that bought him to the attention of the wider world.

Moving from Leeds, to Manchester and now to London Eliphino began DJ’ing at 15, and was crafting beats on an MPC not long after. He was a resident DJ at Drum Major in Leeds, playing host to Hip Hop’s great and good including slots with Madlib and Q Bert, before taking a residency at Hoya Hoya when he moved to Manchester. It was in Manchester that he also supported Flying Lotus and Tokimonsta and playing alongside these beat pioneers he picked up a production tip or two utilising the experience to forge his own distinct sound.

Now residing in a Seven Sisters (London) warehouse, he is about to drop the record that will tip him into the stratosphere – the Undivided Whole EP. Released on new label somethinksounds, the four tracks touch on everything from the emotion of Sasha, to the disembodied nervous beats of post-garage London. The Undivided Whole is a journey through a post everything club landscape where all that matters is the feeling distilled in the music. Having had his four latest tracks on constant repeat, I have no doubt that measured against the barometer of ‘good music’ Eliphino stands head and shoulders above the copycat beatsmiths.

Continue Reading

Duffstep announces debut album

Duffstep announces debut album

Regular readers of Electronic Beats will be more than aware of Jeremy Duffy aka Duffstep’s work. Way back in September we featured Duffstep as one of our Ones To Watch and, as we predicted, big things beckon for the young producer.

Duffstep has announced he will be soon releasing his debut full length Getting to Sirius on Join The Dots. The album will be made up largely of previously unreleased material. It will however feature the 3 tracks previous released on the album sampler he put out late last year.

Getting to Sirius will be followed by 3 EPs featuring a veritable who’s who of remixers – Mark E, Session Victim, Riley Reinhold, FaltyDL, Young Montana?, Eliphino, Loose Fit, Social Monster, Francis Inferno Orchestra are all providing re-rubs as well as Duffstep’s "Thursday night drag act alter-ego": Duff Disco.

You can watch the fantastic animated video for ‘The Way It’s Got To Be’ at the bottom of the page:


01. Free
02. My Kiss
03. Love the Freak
04. On & On
05. Tired
06. Your Touch
07. Backseat
08. Love
09. This Isn’t Just Duff, This Is Duffstep
10. Close Your Eyes
11. The Way It’s Got to Be
12. Happy Days

Duffstep – The Way It’s Got To Be from Join The Dots on Vimeo.

Continue Reading