EB Video Premiere: Gut Und Irmler – “Früh”

The pinnacle of German electronic music collaborations is fast approaching. Next month, the prolific Bureau B record label will release 500m, a nine-track collaborative LP from Krautrock pioneer Joachim Irmler and fellow Deutsche stalwart Gudrun Gut. Irmler, a founding member of Faust, first floated the idea a few years ago, when the Moabit Musik and Monika Enterprise label boss performed at his Klangbad Festival. “For more than a decade, I have been following a concept that merges electronics and percussion, and most of the collaborations were solely among men”, he explained. “I wanted to break with that and asked Gudrun if she would like to complement my organ improvisations”.

The duo finally teamed up to create a record at Faust’s studio in Scheer last fall, and now they’ve released a track from the album, “Früh”, along with a video made by Gut herself. It’s a purposefully amateurish clip that’s easiest to watch with your eyes unfocused—in fact, it might make you dizzy not to, because it opens with a handheld camera spinning in circles at an airport terminal. The shots get steadier as the video progresses and the camera wanders around the rainy runway, but the video never shakes a lo-fi, spaced-out vibe. The track matches its foggy aesthetic with a combination of fuzzy ambient noise, wooden kicks, and extended whines that cut through the haze with a serrated edge.


500m is out September 9th via Bureau B; stream more of the record through Soundcloud

Continue Reading

EB Video Premiere: Schneider TM’s “Elefantenhaut”

Some call it obsessed, some maniacal and some productive. For us, the fact that Berlin-based sound enthusiast Schneider TM, aka Dirk Dresselhaus, has already got his next album ready to go is merely good news. After experimenting with field recordings from construction sites next to his studio last year, he has moved on to a slightly more, er, traditional approach and Guitar Sounds was born. But don’t panic, this ain’t rock ‘n’ roll. It’s much more about experimental maneuvers with the good, old electric guitar. You can get an idea while watching the Yukikoh Okura-directed video premiere above for the first single, “Elefantenhaut”. Guitar Sounds is out next month via Bureau B.

Tomoko Nakasato: dance
Takehito Koganezawa: video feedback
Yukikoh Okura: camera & editing
Dirk Dresselhaus: music
Performed & filmed at ZK/U, Berlin.

Guitar Sounds will be released in September 2013 on Bureau B & MWM. You can watch our Slices DVD feature on Schneider TM here.

Continue Reading

EB Album Premiere: Roedelius Schneider – <i>Tiden</i>

Just two years after the release of their first collaborative album Stunden, Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Stefan Schneider aka Roedelius Schneider have completed their follow-up album Tiden. It will be released next week through the Hamburg-based Bureau B imprint, home to illustrious artists such as Schneider TM, Kreidler and Cluster. Unlike their inaugural album, which was reminecent of Eric Satie and Brian Eno, Tiden sounds like the in-car soundtrack of a journey to inner peace; a calm, reflective work that demands your full attention. Roedelius, born in 1934, is clearly one of the pioneers of contemporary electronic music, finding recognition with influential krautrock bands Cluster and Harmonia alongside Dieter Moebius and Michael Rother. Roedelius is also responsible for milestone albums Zuckerzeit (Cluster) and Deluxe (Harmonia), those too are considered groundbreaking albums within the history of electronic music. By the end of the ’70s he was working with ambient pioneer Brian Eno, going on to produce a total of three albums for him. Twenty years Roedelius’ junior, Stefan Schneider is a founding member of Kreidler (1994-99) and is now part of To Rococo Rot and Mapstation. Pedigree assured, now hit play, kick back and listen.

Roedelius Schneider’s Tiden is out next week through Bureau B. Pre-order here.

Continue Reading

EB Video Premiere: Karl Bartos – “Without A Trace Of Emotion”

Karl Bartos, former member of Kraftwerk who contributed to their iconic albums The Man Machine and Computer World is ready to unveil his second piece of video art for his third full-length Off The Record, which is released today through the always inspiring Bureau B imprint.

Karl Bartos’ song “Without a Trace of Emotion” was originally produced on the day John Lennon got shot, but was then buried for decades—until, in 2010, Karl Bartos rediscovered the track, eventually allowing it to see the light of day on his new album. Enjoy glimpses of ’80s nostalgia and follow Karl as he explores St.Pauli’s legendary Reeperbahn.

Karl Bartos Off The Record is out today via Bureau B – cuts available to stream below:

1. Atomium
2. Nachtfahrt
3. International Velvet
4. Without A Trace Of Emotion
5. The Binary Code
6. Musica Ex Machina
7. The Tuning Of The World
8. Instant Bayreuth
9. Vox Humana
10. Rhythmus
11. Silence
12. Hausmusik

Continue Reading

Videodrome 76 – This week’s best videos

New week, new list.  Take a break and browse through the ten greatest (and not so great) videos of the last seven days. With highlights from The-Drum, Purity Ring, Azealia Banks, Angel Haze, Diamond Version and a whole load more. You know the drill by now.


#1 The-Drum – /BZE, directed by Igor Ivanov

One of my favorite YouTube videos this year. It also happens to be one of my favorite songs too. I love this—all of it.


#2 Bintus – Point Counterpoint

“Point Counterpoint” is Power Vacuum’s next release coming in November courtesy of my favorite Congolese acid warlord Bintus.


#3 Kris Menace feat. Miss Kittin – Hide, directed by Mathieu Bétard

Here’s an ace animation by French designer Mathieu Bétard. Sadly, it’s for a pretty average song from Kris Menance, with Miss Kittin on top. Great technique though.


#4 Azealia Banks – Atlantis, directed by Fafi

Rapunxel Azealia Banks presents her new music video for the OWWWLS-produced track “Atlantis”—directed by none other than Paris artist Fafi. Bon appetite.


#5 Kreidler – Sun

EB fav Kreidler just unveiled their latest video for their killer track “Sun” off of their highly recommended Den, out since October through Bureau B.


#6 Angel Haze – Gossip Folks, directed by Arnaud Miller

Our Angel drops a reworking of Missy Elliott’s “Gossip Folks” taken from her latest mixtape Classick, available to download here.


#7 Diamond Version – Science For A Better Life

Diamond Version, the collaborative project of Raster-Noton heads Byetone and Alva Noto, recently dropped their new video for “Science For a Better Life”, taken from their soon-to-be released EP2.


#8 Alis – Silver

Check out the found footage video for upcoming London producer Alis‘ “Silver” track. Mesmerizing and hypnotic.


#9 Prince Rama – Those Who Live For Love Will Live Forever, directed by Julian Bozeman

Prince Rama is prepping us for the end of the world with some very ethereal songs about love, eternal existence, death and sacrificial rites. Sound trippy? Taste it above.


#10 Eaux – New Peaks, directed by Douglas Hart

London-based project EAUX have unveiled the video for their new single “New Peaks”, taken from their forthcoming debut EP i out November 19 via Morning Ritual Recordings.


#11 Purity Ring – Lofticries, directed by AG Rojas

Pretty lame video for one of the outstanding tracks of this year, directed by AG Rojas.

Continue Reading