Telekom Electronic Beats

Videodrome 142 – This month’s best videos

Every month Moritz Gayard sorts through the deluge of new music videos so you don’t have to.

After an epic silence of six weeks, your beloved music video update aka Videodrome is back with a fresh dose of audiovisual joy. I’ve carefully selected videos from emerging artists such as Mumdance, Emily Reo and Timg Green plus the usual fun by Mykki Blanco, Roll The Dice and Disclosure. Have fun below, Videodrome will be back in July. Ah, and there’s no Pitbull inside.


#1 Emily Reo – “Rainbow Road”, directed by Dustin Muenchow

Addicted. This is Los Angeles-based producer, singer-songwriter Emily Reo’s first ever music video, presenting champagne bubbles and much more. But what makes this special is most definitely her voice. Also, Emily’s Olive Juice LP is available now from Elestial Sound.

#2 Roll The Dice – “Assembly”, directed by Frode & Marcus

What starts as a found footage short film ends in some eruptive volcano explosions. Again—Roll the Dice at their best. Missed their recent album? Have a pre-listen here or purchase here.

#3 Mumdance – “Take Time” feat. Novelist

This gets me hyped. Mumdance is about to release a new EP for Rinse FM, which is led by the single above featuring Novelist. So good.

#4 Kevin Verwijmeren – “Abstract Point Forgotten In The Rush”, directed by Julien Lambrechts

Cool video for the opening track of Kevin Verwijmeren’s debut album It’s the Colour of a Cloud Covered Sky—out soon via Soft Corridor Records.

#5 Mykki Blanco – “She Gutta”

Following his marvelous Betty Rubble: The Initiation EP from 2013, here’s “She Gutta”, one of Mykki Blanco’s first singles of 2014 taken from his upcoming Spring/Summer EP.

#6 Natasha Khan for YMC – “Under The Indigo Moon”

Wow, Natasha Khan of Bat For Lashes has created a short film for YMC, showcasing the SS14 collection which she’s designed for the label. B is for beautiful.

#7 Tim Green – “Helpless Sun”

FACT has just premiered the video for the title track of the UK producer’s new EP. Released on My Favorite Robot, it’s a tune.

#8 Disclosure x Friend Within – “The Mechanism”

Grammy Award-winning electronic outfit Disclosure have just dropped their nicely animated video for “The Mechanism,” a collaborative number with Friend Within.

#9 DAMH – “Hansi”

New, nice video by DAMH. DAMH? Yes, DAMH = the collaborative project between David Hasert and Ada. Their first 12-inch of is released on Kompakt with remixes of Matt Karmil and DJ Koze.

#10 Nils Frahm – “Re”

Hyperactive Nils Frahm just unveiled this nice little animated video inspired by his Screws album, alongside further worldwide tour dates. Interview needed? Click here.~

Published June 05, 2014. Words by moritz.schmall.