Telekom Electronic Beats

Discover The Sound Of The Lithuanian Post-Techno Underground With Secret Thirteen's Radio Show

secret thirteen logo

The Vilnius-based platform offers a beautiful 1.5 hour audio trip.

Over the years, Lithuanian internet journal Secret Thirteen has provided music fans with a host of incredible mixes. Whether it’s goth history mixtapes or mixes exploring the Russian avant-garde—not to mention the curators’ off-the-wall, 50-track collage mix for Electronic Beats’ own podcast series—the online platform has always been the place to explore music bubbling up from the underground.

Now, the Secret Thirteen crew have consolidated their listening habits and musical expertise into a regular radio show. Last night, they broadcasted the first episode of their new, forward-thinking Secret Communications show via Berlin radio station Cashmere Radio.

By loading the content from Mixcloud, you agree to Mixcloud’s privacy policy.
Learn more

Load content

Alongside obscure ’80s post-punk and mournful synth tracks, you’ll also hear forthcoming tracks on Opal Tapes from rave deconstructors Lyra Valenza and glitchy noisemakers Tiese. Featuring work from Lithuanian artists Patricia Kokett and Šalta Kava, the show also proves that the Lithuanian DIY scene is flourishing despite its relatively small size. Check out the mix in full above, and check out the tracklist below.


01. Beast – Staren [Thrill Jockey, 2018]
02. Ensemble Economique – Music Is Life (feat. Alexander Molero) [Denovali, 2018]
03. Šalta Kava – Krantas [Secondhand Daylight Records, 2008]
04. Thugwidow – Europa [BLCR Laboratories, 2018]
05. Dissecting Table – Rokudo [Dark Vinyl Records, 1995]
06. Tiese – Untitled [Secret Thirteen, forthcoming]
07. Patricia Kokett – Luxor [Knekelhuis, 2018]
08. Lyra Valenza – January Airdrop [Opal Tapes / Petrola 80, forthcoming]
09. Yaws – Reflekt [Alien Jams, forthcoming]
10. Djurkliniken – Cry [Negabeat Records, 1989]
11. Punky Jones – Moondrunk [Clan Destine Records, 2018]
12. Fake Skies – Ritual Healing [Subsidence, 2018]
13. Slovenska Televiza – Bailes Valstīs [Leipzig Inn Records, 2016]
14. Advanced Art – You’re a Pretender [self-released, 1987]
15. Dick Tracy’s Wrist Radio – Nightcaller [Vinyl-on-demand, 2014]
16. Semănat – Langas [self-released, 2017]
17. Black Deer – She Is Coming [L.I.E.S., 2016]
18. Phalangius – Snowman Theorem [Strange Life Records, 2007]
19. The Legendary Pink Dots – Fare Thee Well [Noise Noise Noise Records USA, 2018]

Read more: Hear the sound of Polish underground music from 1984-2017 with this mixtape