Telekom Electronic Beats

DJ Stingray's New BBC 1 Essential Mix Is Heavy AF Electro From A True Detroit G


By loading the video, you agree to YouTube's privacy policy.
Learn more

Load video

Two hours of uncompromising cuts from the "elder statesmen of electro."

A new mix by DJ Stingray is always cause for celebration. His new effort for BBC Radio 1’s Essential Mix, however, is cause for full-blown pandemonium.

Across two hours, the “elder statesman of electro” blasts through over 50 scorching tracks suspended between the harder fringes of electro and warehouse techno. The Detroit-born, Berlin-based DJ is unrelenting in approach, exploding from the get-go with brittle drum programming and jagged synth lines and engineering a bumping technoid funk that is uniquely his own.

Traversing tracks from the likes of Solid BlakeDrexciya, Luke Eargoggle and Setaoc Mass, Stingray canvasses the many sides of electro both young and old. But while the mix is certainly not for the faint of heart, Stingray’s unmatched flow and tight mixing skills shine through, drawing up every new track into a vortex of sonic energy and intensity. In short, this is a must-hear mix from a true master.

Check it out in full above.


Transllusion – Do You Want To Get Down
Illektrolab – Heavy Hitter
Bintus – Cylinder Bop
Cherrieep – Rampant
Digitek Intelligence Assasins – Shock The System
Cosmic Force – Haunted By My Past
K. Scott – Let’s Go Programming
Electrix – Time (Sync 24 Remix)
Plant43 – Dormant Tech
Gareth Wild – Limehouse Cut
Scalameriya – Crucible
Troels B. Knudsen – Concept 2
John King – C C/p
DJ Godfather & DJ Nasty – Be Quiet (Breakdown)
DJ K1 – Back To The Future
Go Nuclear – Time To Party
Troels B. Knudsen – Concept 4
Tommy Holohan – Ask For Absolution
Dax J – Escape The System
Contactless – Cybernetic Jerkin
Go Nuclear – Exotic Dancer
DJ Overdose – Comfort Killer
Unknown – Juxta Position
Chafik Chennouf & Katsunori Sawa – No Divine Saviour (Nene H. Remix)
Kronos Device – The Engine
Silicon – Rules Of Engagement
London Modular Alliance – Tremors
Solid Blake – Warp Room
Volruptus – Alien Transmission
Rebekah – Riot Control
Transllusion – War Of The Clones
Troels B. Knudsen – Concept 7
Sync 24 & Radioactive Man – Elliptical
DJ Shortstop – The Trip
Kronos – Conscious Robots
Hydraulix – Krunk
Luke Eargoggle & KAN3DA – Night Smoker
Partisan Midi – Phono Abduction
Aleksi Perälä – UK74R1824020
Troels B. Knudsen – Concept 6
Traktor – Master Traktor
Surgeon – Rule By Law
Supraman – Supramanram 1500
Scalameriya – Runna 1
Dgf-starski – Freak
Dez Williams – Carkrash Victim
Detroit’s Filthiest – Before I Self Destruct
Dgf – Williams Street
Setaoc Mass – Disrepair
Marco Bernardi & Luke Eargoggle – Rat Wire Chomp
Franck Kartell – Coma
Slaves Of Sinus – People Who Destroy
Versalife – Recombinant Combinations
Andrea – Future Atmo
Drexciya – Cascading Celestial Giants

Photo by George Nebieridze